Pie in the Sky

Friday, October 23, 2009Koala Crop
Apple Pie Martini

I’m lagging behind Sue by a martini now, so I need to make sure I get caught up.  I took Saturday night off from the martini blog as I was out late with my kids to see The Lion King musical downtown.  Friday’s cocktail was the Apple Pie Martini, consisting of 6 parts vanilla vodka, 1 part Calvados, 1 part dry vermouth, and an apple slice for garnish.  Fortunately, I have about 5 different kinds of vodka in my freezer and vanilla is one of them.  Had to buy the Calvados.  I could swear Calvados might be the same thing a college boyfriend got me really drunk on one evening back in my sophomore year.  Or apple brandy.  Not sure if they’re the same thing or not.  I don’t think they are. 

At any rate, I mixed this one up.  Nice drink.  Smooth, easy to drink, nice pale amber color.  The vodka-saturated apple slice that remained in the bottom was a tasty snack, probably not quite befitting the ‘keeps the doctor away’ adage but good nonetheless.  It was sweet but not overly so and just a bit tart.  Tasted very good.  Didn’t taste like an apple pie, though.  So for that it gets 4 stars.  I have another recipe for a blueberry pie martini that actually does have a pretty good resemblance to the real deal – this one, not so much.

Stay tuned for Sunday’s cocktail – the “Artillery Cocktail”. Feel like I should check my DVD collection for some WWII flick to go along with it.  Think I might have an old video copy of Force 10 from Navarone with Harrison Ford.  That would do.  🙂

Cheers, Cathy

~ by rachelroust on October 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
