Beadlestone Martini

Monday, October 26, 2009
Beadlestone Martini

LeLapin CropThis was a thoroughly unmemorable and uninspiring drink.   It was not that was bad or undrinkable, it was just boring.  I am so glad that I didn’t spend a lot of money on good scotch.

Scotch is my husband’s drink, so I was tempted to, as a treat for him.  But then since this was going to be in a mixed drink, I thought better of that.   And I am so very glad I did.  Good scotch should be sipped and savored, straight, on the rocks or mixed  with soda but not mingled with dry vermouth.   I can appreciate the wonderful aroma of scotch even if I do not personally like the taste or can even pronounce the brands!  I like the smokiness and sometimes the ocean overtones;  the peaty ones can be a little overpowering for me.

It reminded me of what you drink when there is nothing left in the cabinet and you don’t feel like going out to the store, so you take whatever you can find.

And back to my pet peeve, where the HECK did this name come from?  If someone could explain that to me, I would be eternally grateful.   I guess it is a classic cocktail but WHERE does the name come from?

OK, enough ranting for now.   Basically, the Beadlestone Martini was not a bad drink, but not a good one, either.  If you are going to have scotch, treat yourself and have a single shot of an excellent  single malt (or a fine blended, if you prefer) and savor it however you wish.   You deserve to treat yourself once in a while and if scotch is your drink of choice, do it right.

Thanks for stopping by,

Sue

~ by leahlair on October 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
