Black and White and Bored All Over

Tuesday, October 27, 2009Koala Crop
Black & White Martini

I will be honest, this drink called for a black and white licorice candy as a garnish.  I really don’t care for licorice candy of any color or variety and I wasn’t about to go out and buy a whole bag just for the sake of a garnish.  I skipped it.  So, this cocktail thus consisted of 6 parts vanilla vodka (I used Stoli Vanilla) and 2 parts creme de cacao.  I realized after I mixed it that I’d used the white creme de cacao instead of the dark.  Another FAIL.  Although I think they do actually taste the same.  I’ll get back to you on that.  So my drink wasn’t black and white or even a deep honeyed brown as pictured, it was just clear.  

To be fair, it is a nice, sweet cocktail, very drinkable.  But it needs something.  And I don’t just mean the color it lacked because I used the wrong shade of creme de cacao, or the loss of a black and white licorice candy as a garnish in the bottom.  I’m not sure what it needed but it was still a little harsh around the edges.  Maybe a chocolate cream liqueur instead, and a candied rim would have softened it up.  Overall rating, 3 out of 5 stars.  Decent but not too exciting – kind of like my ex-spouse.  (Those of you who know me, know what I’m talking about!). 

Mixing it up again tomorrow, catch you then!
Cathy

~ by rachelroust on October 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
