Color Blind

Tuesday, November 3, 2009Koala Crop
Broadway Martini

While I wasn’t in the mood for a sweet, minty drink, I decided to go ahead and mix this one up because I’d skipped over it a couple of times already.  Like I said in my previous post, I’m not a huge creme de menthe fan, I have to be motivated.  I have a favorite drink that does use it – called a Polar Beer – that is delicious.  Amaretto in the bottom, topped off with hot cocoa, whipped cream from a can, drizzled with creme de menthe.  Other than that, I’m not much of a creme de menthe drinker.  The Broadway is 6 parts gin, 1 part white creme de menthe, garnished with a fresh mint sprig. 

White creme de menthe.  Actually it’s clear.  I didn’t know there was such a thing, I’m just used to the green stuff.  I looked up creme de menthe online and the clear and green versions are interchangeable as far as recipes go, “unless the desired color is a factor”.  Well, I guess I should have thought about that.  Green is green, right?  Shouldn’t be a big deal.  So I mixed it with the green variety, since that’s all I had.  It was a lovely, bright shade of emerald green.  It was … NYQUIL.  In a martini glass.  Oh dear.  No, must get past this, it’s a martini, not a nighty-night, knock-you-on-your-ass cold medicine.  I took a sip, then another.  It was good.  It was minty, refreshing, tasty.  And it was … NYQUIL.  I couldn’t get past the imagery or the notion that I was drinking cold medicine.  Major FAIL. 

Nyquil JPG

This is NOT a Martini

Maybe if I’d made it with the clear stuff it would have made all the difference in the world.  Or if I’d mixed it with my eyes closed and not realized it was bright green, but not sure how I could have done that.  I don’t think it would have helped much.  It got better as I drank it, but not much!  Alas, this one gets only a lowly two star rating in my book.  Martinis shouldn’t be minty flavored.  Not sure what should be.  Coffee with Bailey’s or something like that, something creamy.  But not this.

Until the next Happy Hour,
Cathy

~ by rachelroust on November 4, 2009.

2 Responses to “Color Blind”

  1. It’s, it’s, it’s…..green (said in a pseudo-Scottish accent of course!)

  2. Of course you KNEW I’d dig this out:

Leave a Reply

 
