Short, Sweet, and With a Twist

Sunday, November 8, 2009
Citrus Martini

My apologies, dear readers – somehow I literally forgot to post this one.  (Hmm, gee, Cathy, you don’t think that memory problems could be an issue with, oh, say, drinking two+ martinis a night?).  Well, I guess there are worse problems to have.  I mixed this up last Sunday evening, it was pretty tasty.  8 parts lemon-flavored vodka, 1 teaspoon Grand Marnier, 1 teaspoon fresh lime juice, lemon twist for garnish. 

A Mighty Fine Lemon Twist

I liked this one.  It sounds stupid but probably the reason I forgot to post it was because it wasn’t jarring, weird, distasteful, or otherwise.  It was just a nice cocktail for a Sunday evening to have after the kids went to bed.  4 stars.  Not a five star drink only because I wasn’t crazy about it, but a good one.  I think I tend to prefer citrus or lemon vodka in things that are either outright lemon-flavored (such as a Lemon Drop) or that have added sweetness (such as a Cosmo) vs. other citrus flavors. 

I do need to work on my lemon twist garnishes.  I tend to just cut a lemon slice in half and toss it in, I would never make it as a bartender in terms of garnishes unless  I can stick to whole things like olives, cocktail onions, and cherries. 

‘Til the next Happy Hour,
Cathy

~ by rachelroust on November 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
