Mixology 101

Friday, November 27, 2009
Hotel Plaza Martini

Saturday, November 28, 2009
Gumdrop

Sunday, November 29, 2009
Icy Frapputini

Sunday, Novemer 29, 2009
Ideal Martini

The Hotel Plaza was boring, I am sorry to say.   I do not even remember it very well.   It was so nondescript that I couldn’t get up enough enthusiasm to make another drink on Friday evening.  I got home from the hospital and was a bit despondent, perhaps that was the reason, nothing would have been appetizing.   At any rate the Hotel Plaza was equal parts of gin, dry and sweet vermouth and a maraschino cherry.  The best part was the cherry.

I took my daughter to see Wicked on Saturday, a belated birthday present.   I was so impressed—at intermission the only thing I could think was WOW, yes, in capital letters.  I am now a Wicked convert and devotee.  So I came home in a good mood.

Finally, I had to try the Gumdrop on Saturday night after putting it off for a couple of days.    Oh my word, the first sip was vile, many apologies to the Martini Book author.   Remember in Gone With the Wind, when Rhett came to call and Scarlett drank some perfume to cover up her alcohol breath?  OK, I think you get the idea of the taste of this drink.   Perhaps it was the Southern Comfort, I had never had it before and will likely never have it again.  I am so glad I elected to get the airline mini bottle size of the brew instead of purchasing an entire full size bottle. I gather it is a type of bourbon to which a variety of things have been added, such as vanilla, various citrus, cinnamon, cloves, maybe some honey.   In case you want the recipe for this one it is 4 parts lemon-flavored vodka, 2 parts vodka, 1 part Southern Comfort, ½ teaspoon dry vermouth, bar sugar, lemon slice and gumdrops.   OK, so I didn’t have the gumdrops.  Maybe that is what would have made this palatable.

I went into Sunday with a renewed spirit, thinking that the next drinks would be better, determined to find a palatable drink.  I was beginning to think that I was being too picky or maybe my tastebuds were somehow out of whack or not normal.   I tried the Icy Frapputini, 1 part chilled brewed espresso, 1 part Bailey’s Irish Cream, 1 part coffee flavored vodka.   OK, this was very good, but then again, what made with Bailey’s is not?  It was YUM-O.  The bad news is that I have run out of coffee flavored vodka.   This one was a winner.    Hooray!

My faith in the book renewed, I tried the next on my list, the Ideal Martini.  It was anything but Ideal, so I hope the name is derived from something other than the actual meaning of the word.   My husband said it was undrinkable, so he poured it back into the martini shaker and proceeded to add some simple syrup to doctor it up so that is was not a total waste of liquor and a splash more of maraschino.   The Ideal was made with 6 parts gin, 2 parts dry vermouth, ½ teaspoon maraschino liqueur, 1 teaspoon lemon juice and a twist of lemon.   The lemon made it really bitter which should have been balanced out by the maraschino, but it was very overpowering.   The simple syrup made it better, at least drinkable, although by that time I was so disheartened that I could not drink any more.

I have come to a conclusion, these drinks are only the starting point.   To develop a good drink, you have to be a mixologist and taste as you go, recipes are merely suggestions.    So, I have come to a decision.   I will make the original recipe and then, adjust it as necessary.   I will include the original recipe and then how I fixed it.  I understand that the cocktail is a subjective thing and my palate will not be the same as anyone else’s, but in order to enjoy the next month of drinks, I am going to have to do this.   I beg the readers’ (if I have any audience!) indulgence.

Thanks for stopping by,
Sue

~ by leahlair on November 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
