Short and Slightly Sweet, with a Twist

Island Martini
Friday, December 4, 2009

Lemon Twist
Friday, December 4, 2009

Despite my previous post regarding postponing the deadline to Valentine’s Day for this, I was able to sample two cocktails this evening.  Reason is because I used mini bottles of lemon rum and gold rum – which means a smaller martini than I would normally make … by about half!  So I figured I’d stick to the rum varieties this evening.

The Island Martini is 6 parts gold rum, 1 part dry vermouth, 1 part sweet vermouth, and a lemon twist.  It was very tasty.  I’m still not convinced that rum constitutes a martini, but I will concede that this IS a cocktail worthy of drinking.  Vodka is still my first choice, but I’ll give this one a four star rating.  I enjoyed it. 

The Lemon Twist is similar, save for being based on lemon-flavored rum.  6 parts lemon rum, 1 part dry vermouth, and a lemon twist.  Hmmm.  I love lemon drops.  This isn’t a lemon drop.  I’m not sure what’s missing, probably a good chunk of sugar.  The lemon twist might have been better with a sweeter mix – I should have tried it with sweet vermouth instead.  Unfortunately I’m not enough of a mixologist to know if that would be what makes the difference or not.  As Sue mentioned in a previous post, I think being a bartender vs. a mixologist is indeed a very different skill.  I guess it’s the difference between a cook and a chef.  I can follow a recipe.  Create one?  Another thing altogether.  To the mixologists who have come up with the drinks I truly love – my glass is raised to you.  As for hte run of the mill cocktails and whomever came up with them – hey, you tried.  I doubt I could do better.  But it does give me something to aspire to!  🙂

Cheers,
Cathy

~ by rachelroust on December 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
