Nightmare on Reinhardt Drive meets a Cheap Date

Saturday, December 12, 2009
Manhasset

Sunday, December 13, 2009
Jack London Martini

Sunday, December 13, 2009
Nightmare

Monday, December 14, 2009
Nutty Martini

Tuesday, December 15, 2009
Oakland Cocktail

Wednesday, December 16, 2009
Parisian Martini

Thursday, December 17, 2009
New Orleans Martini

Friday, December 18, 2009
Opera Martini

Week started off well with a Manhasset, 6 parts rye whiskey, ½ part dry vermouth, ½ part sweet vermouth, 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice with a twist.   I like rye, so was looking forward to this, expecting it to be something like my favorite Manhattan.   This was similar, but not exactly like a Manhattan due to the citrus of the lemon juice and twist.  In addition to have a citrusy taste, it was not as sweet as a standard Manhattan, given the addition of the dry vermouth.   But, all in all, this was drinkable and enjoyable.

Sunday’s drinks were polar opposites in terms of taste and “enjoyability”.  The Jack London Martini consisted of 6 parts currant vodka, 2 parts Dubonnet blanc, 1 part maraschino liqueur and a lemon twist.  This used up the last of my currant vodka, was not sorry to see the bottle go into the recycle bin.  Every time I have currant vodka these last few weeks, the drink has tasted like a form of grape Koolaid.   While that may be fine for 10 year olds and Jim Jones, it is not suitable in a cocktail.   However, this drink did not taste like grape Koolaid.   I had never had Dubonnet blanc, but I do remember the commercials during the holidays when I was a kid—have Dubonnet on the rocks.   It sounded so elegant.   It is a fortified sweet wine, very sweet.   It was not a bad drink, but it was far from memorable.

The Nightmare (6 parts gin, 2 parts Madiera wine, 2 parts cherry brandy and an orange twist) was true to its name.   No need to ponder where that name came from.   It was bad.   I cannot describe it any other way and I only had two sips of it and tossed the rest down the kitchen drain.   I am not sure what it was that made this so awful, I guess it was the interplay between the Madeira (which I have had in the past and enjoyed) and the sickly artificial sweetness and color of the cherry brandy.   Anyway, yuck.   I cannot recommend this drink.  My apologies if I have offended anyone.

Monday night brought cocktail relief in the form of the Nutty Martini:   6 parts vodka, 1 part Frangelico and a lemon twist.    I like Frangelico, add some vodka, badda bing badda boom.  It is sweet, so might work better as an after-dinner refreshment rather than an aperitif, but you would likely not be disappointed.

Tuesday’s drink seemed appropriate as it was called the Oakland Cocktail.  I was born and raised in Oakland.  It was comprised of 4 parts vodka, 2 parts dry vermouth and 2 parts fresh orange juice.   It was the return of the Screwdriver, expect not as sweet.  I was never one for Screwdrivers in college or when they were popular in the early 80’s, so I will toss this in the “not-to-make-again file”.

OK, am I going crazy or am I just an absolutely horrible speller who has gotten by relying on SpellCheck too much?   I thought the Martini Book listed the drink recipes in alphabetical order.  I looked up the next drink on my list, the Parisian Martini, which I would expect BEFORE the Parrothead Martini.  “I” still comes before “R”, right?   But the order in the book reads Palm Beach, Parrothead, Parisian, Park Avenue and then the Peach Blossom.   Maybe I should have been an editor.  Nah, I am not that detail oriented.  I am starting to sound surly and churlish so I will just go back to the drinks.    The Parisian was 6 parts gin, 2 parts dry vermouth and 1 part crème de cassis.    I was expecting something like a kir royale.   It was a passable drink, the sweetness of cassis balanced out the dry vermouth, although I did use only half the dry vermouth indicated.   Given the choice, I would have a kir royale (champagne with a couple drops of crème de cassis) instead of this drink but it would do in a pinch.

I finally broke down and had New Orleans Martini on Thursday night.   I was dreading this as it had Pernod.  I have bad memories of Pernod from college days.  BLECK.   I agreed to take this drink in a moment of weakness when I felt guilty because Cathy had taken all the Pernod drinks and she obviously was not enjoying them.   So I stepped up to the plate.   This drink was 6 parts vanilla vodka, 1 part dry vermouth, 1 part Pernod, 1 dash Angostura bitters and a fresh mint sprig.  The vanilla vodka overpowered the Pernod, so I hardly tasted the anise of the Pernod (which is always a good thing to my thinking).   The mint spring kept is fresh, which was also a plus.   All in all, this was not as bad as I thought, but it had enough of a licorice taste that I will not have this one again.  But it was better than the Nightmare.

Friday night as the end of a very, very long week, and an even longer semester.   The College is closed next Monday and Tuesday and the campus is closed from next Wednesday (12/23) to January 6, 2010, so I have 2.5 weeks off.  Hooray!  Granted, half of it is furlough time, but I can hopefully relax a bit.   Tonight’s drink was the Opera Martini, 6 parts gin, 2 parts Dubonnet Blanc, 1 part maraschino liqueur and a lemon twist.  I do not know if there was more alcohol in this than normal, if I didn’t have enough to eat, or if I was just so exhausted from the last couple of months or what.  But I do know that I felt this drink, it put me on my ear ass.   My husband called this a “cheap date drink” because it put me under the table. (Cathy’s comment:  Probably the wrong place for a good cheap date to end up, I’d think the bed would be more comfortable!)  🙂

That’s all for now, thanks for stopping by,
Sue

~ by leahlair on December 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
