Short and Peachy Keen

Janauary 1, 2010
Peach Blossom Martini

6 parts peach vodka, 1 part Dubonnet rouge, 1 part maraschino liqueur, fresh peach slice.  I kept forgetting to pick up peach vodka so I could make this one, I’ve actually skipped ahead and made a few other drinks here and there in the The Martini Book, so this and the next several posts will be a bit out of alphabetical order.  It has been the Christmas and New Year holidays and both Sue and I have been busy with things – her with family gatherings, and a few for me as well, and I’ve had the flu for the past week, which tends to cut down on my drinking considerably.  (Probably a good thing, that part, alas, I don’t look any thinner for my troubles).  So I finally picked up some Absolut “Apeach” vodka at the store the other day along with my weekly groceries before getting my kids back for the week. 

Peaches don’t seem to be in season, but this cocktail looked such a lovely color, it really did need some kind of garnish, so I threw in a cherry from a jar in the fridge.  Not a bad addition.  The color of the drink is a nice rosy gold shade, and taste-wise?  A little bit too much peach, for me – but it wasn’t bad.  I’m not a huge peach fan anyway, I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m not a big fruit eater.  I would mix this up again with maybe 2/3rds peach vodka and 1/3 straight vodka, just to tone down the peach flavor a little.  I did notice as I poured the remnants of the shaker (including some melted ice) into the rest of my drink, I liked it better because it was more watered down and thus less “peachy”.  Overall, I’ll give it a 3.75 star rating and will try it again with the less peach vodka modification.  No changes to the maraschino and Dubbonet rouge additions, those were just fine.  I might try a lemon twist for garnish next time, too.  For the first martini of a new year, it was pretty tasty!

Happy New Year to all our readers!

Cheers,
Cathy

~ by rachelroust on January 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
