Not Popping My Cherry

January 19, 2010
Rendezvous Martini

Short and excessively sweet post on this one!  🙂  Okay, I admit right off the bat, I’m not a fan of cherries.  I know some people go nuts over cherries, especially when they’re in season.  I’m not one of them.  I like strawberries, but even those I could take or leave – I guess I wasn’t really raised to like fresh fruit, which is a shame.  I get the occasional pint of strawberries or some blueberries just for the sake of feeling less guilty about my dietary intake, but I’d almost always rather be eating chocolate. Or drinking a dirty martini!

The Rendezvous is 6 parts gin, 2 parts cherry brandy, 1 part Campari, fresh cherries for garnish.  Thankfully Campari isn’t as nasty to me as Pernod is, but it still has a slightly bitter taste that doesn’t work for me.  This is a lovely colored drink, a light reddish pink, sweet from the cherry but a bit of herbal from the Campari.  If I liked cherries more, I’d probably be all over this drink.  As it is, I have to just give it a 3 star rating.  I like sweet martinis but prefer more of the berry or vanilla/chocolate variety.

Cheers,
Cathy

~ by rachelroust on January 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
